“White” Gingerbread Cookies

Sometimes, you just want your cookies to be bright so they can be decorated easier, right?  But Gingerbread tastes great and is always a crowd pleaser.  So what do you do?  Try this recipe!

  • 3 c unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger (I really thought I had some ground ginger at home so I didn’t grab any at the store.  Once I started making my cookies, I realized I didn’t have any ground ginger.  Oh no!  So I substituted some “juice” from the jar of minced ginger we keep in the fridge.  I was worried it would be stronger than dried ginger so I only used 1/8 tsp.  Hubby thinks it tastes great!)
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp All-spice
  • 1 c granulated sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and mix well.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and spices. Beat the the dry ingredients into the wet mixture gradually, scraping down the sides of the bowl.

Roll the dough out into two disks and chill for about an hour before cutting out shapes.

When ready, bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes, until edges of the cookies are golden brown.

Notes:I haven’t baked them yet but the dough tastes nice and spiced.  It’s just a tiny shade darker than my butter cookie dough so it’ll be nice and light and easy to decorate.

Ideas:I think I’m going to make those little cut out sandwich cookies that usually have jam in the middle but put some apple butter in the middle instead.  Or maybe something like pumpkin or sweet potato pie filling.  It seems like they will take well to those yummy fall flavors.

 

 

Pictures to come!

